Why Your School Should Become a Member
Sportsmanship Center

Illinois High School Association
National Federation of State High School Associations
NFHS Learning Center
Human Kinetics Coach Education Center
IESA Boys Wrestling

Meet the 2014 Grand Marshal

One Grand Marshal will lead the annual Parade of Champions Saturday night (March 15) before the championship bouts of the 35th annual Illinois Elementary School Association (IESA) State Final Wrestling Tournament.

Named Grand Marshal for 2014 is: Arthur V. "Arch" Richoz, IESA State Wrestling Tournament Manager and former head wrestling coach at DeKalb Huntley Middle School.

The IESA started having Grand Marshals in 1996. The Grand Marshals are honored for their contributions to interscholastic wrestling and the young men who participate in the sport. They are nominated by the IESA Wrestling Advisory Committee and approved by the IESA Board of Directors. The marshals will play an integral role of the Parade of Champions as they will lead the 38 individual finalists and their coaches into the Convocation Center, amidst music, applause and cheers from teammates, parents, family, and fans.

Here is a closer look at the 2014 Grand Marshal:

Richoz It is only fitting that Arch Richoz is the only Grand Marshal for 2014 and he is the first person to be selected as a Grand Marshal twice for the IESA state wrestling championships. No person in the last 16 years has put more time, effort, and energy into hosting the state finals than Arch. He has served as the state final tournament manager since 1999 when the IESA finals were held at Evans Field House here on the campus of Northern Illinois University and then was instrumental in the move to our present location here at the Convocation Center beginning in 2003. At the conclusion of this year's tournament, Arch will retire as the manager of the IESA state wrestling tournament. He graduated from Elgin High School and wrestled for the legendary coach, Al Scharf. He attended Valparaiso University and transferred to Northern Illinois University where he completed his undergraduate degree with a B.S. in Physical Education. Arch went on to complete both his M.S. degree and a Certificate of Advanced Study from NIU. He started teaching and coaching at DeKalb Huntley Middle School in 1968 where he achieved unparalleled success. His wrestling teams had an incredible record of 382 wins, 43 losses, and one tie. Over the course of his coaching career, Huntley was crowned the IESA state team champion in 1991, he had six undefeated dual meet seasons, they won 19 regional championships, and 11 sectional championships. Arch coached 18 state champions and 19 second place finishers during his tenure. He served on the IESA wrestling advisory committee from 1993-1996 and is one of only two junior high school wrestling coaches to be inducted into the IWCOA Hall of Fame. He was also inducted into the DeKalb Wrestling Hall of Fame in 2005. Arch retired from his teaching career in 1999 but has remained very active in the DeKalb community. He has been a realtor broker for 43 years, is a business owner of Castle View Real Estate, and has been a 14 year past president, board member, current contributor, and supporter of the DeKalb wrestling club and wresting program. He and his wife Joan celebrated 50 years of marriage this past January and they have two daughters, Kim and Suzon. A true gentleman and an absolute staunch supporter of the sport of wrestling, the IESA and its member schools thank Arch for his dedication, sacrifices and contributions to the IESA wrestling program.

Past Grand Marshals
1996 Robert Gatrell, Bloomington, Former Executive Director of the IESA
1997 Bill Marquardt, Bloomington, Official & Arch Richoz, DeKalb, Coach
1998 Mike Manahan, Bloomington, Coach & Mike Pastiak, Burr Ridge, Coach
1999 Ron Karnopp, Quincy, Coach & Dave Ulstad, New Lenox, Coach
2000 Joe Pedersen, Darien, Official, Principal, & Coach
2001 Dan Farinosi, Hoffman Estates, Official & Jim Moxley, Mahomet-Seymour,Coach
2002 Jim Rankin, Clifton, Administrator and Coach & Dave Brost, New Lenox, Official
2003 John Pine, Clinton, Coach; Tony Zens, Ingleside Taveirne, Coach; Mike Wilkey, Oak Park, Official
2004 Ray Cummings, Pesotum, Official & Mike Golimowski, Morris Shabbona, Coach
2005 Bob Jahn, Bolingbrook Humphrey Coach & Dan Fulscher, Lincoln, Official
2006 Terry Milton, Clinton, Coach & Rob Porter, Mahomet-Seymour, Former IESA Champion
2007 Wayne Mooney, Joliet Gompers, Coach & Rob Russell, Sandwich, Coach
2008 Scot Kody, Inverness, Official
2009 John Welter, Fox Lake, Coach; Matt Grimm, Chatham Glenwood, Coach, Dave Mathews, Official
2010 Joe Spiezio, Braidwood Reed-Custer, Administrator; Basil Bakakos, Johnsburg, Coach; Bill Honeycutt, Official
2011 Tom Norquist, Niles Gemini, Coach; Renny Garshelis, Charleston, Official
2012 Steve Lee, Prospect Heights MacArthur, Principal; Roger Taylor, Lake Zurich, Coach
2013 Bill Stonitsch, Channahon, Coach & Frank Filippi, Jr., Glen Ellyn, Official

Home   |   Site Map   |   Activities   |   News   |   Sportsmanship   |   Administration   |   Resources

WWW www.iesa.org

Illinois Elementary School Association
1015 Maple Hill Road, Bloomington, IL 61705 - PH: 309-829-0114 - FAX: 309-829-0625
Contact the IESA - http://www.iesa.org
Contents © 1999-2019 Illinois Elementary School Association