Why Your School Should Become a Member
Sportsmanship Center

Illinois High School Association
National Federation of State High School Associations
NFHS Learning Center
Human Kinetics Coach Education Center
IESA Track
State Track Meet Winners
Girls Class 7A: 1985-Current
Year Champion Points Runner Up Third Place Fourth Place
2019 Altamont 37.5 Normal Metcalf Teutopolis Chicago Queen of All Saints
2018 Seneca 31 Waterman Indian Creek Altamont Peoria Washington
2017 Palatine St. Theresa 26 Kickapoo St. Mary's Sidell Salt Fork
Waterman Indian Creek
2016 Chicago Old St. Mary's 40 Winchester Oakland Lake Crest
Walnut Bureau Valley North
2015 Lewistown Central 40 Danville Schlarman Brownstown
2014 Carthage 44 Liberty Springfield Christ the King Madison
2013 Decatur Johns Hill 52 Madison Carthage
Champaign St. Matthew
2012 Champaign St. Matthew 35.20 Rock Falls St. Andrew Table Grove VIT Fox River Grove
Galesburg Costa
2011 Erie 51.5 Catlin Champaign St. Matthew
Kewanee Wethersfield
2010 Assumption Central A & M 33 Peoria St. Philomena Kewanee Wethersfield
2009 Erie 45 Carthage Springfield Christ the King Champaign Judah Christian
2008 Assumption Central A & M
Normal Epiphany
36   Carthage Mt. Pulaski
2007 Lexington 38 Assumption Central A & M Altamont Argenta-Oreana
Decatur Hope
2006 Lexington 45 Tremont Kewanee Wethersfield La Harpe
2005 Assumption Central A & M 36 Chrisman Scottland Bismarck-Henning East St. Louis Jackson
2004 Bloomington Holy Trinity 47 Newton St. Thomas Carrollton GS Hamilton
2003 Champaign St. Matthew 39 Lincoln Chester-East Lincoln Bloomington Holy Trinity
Hanna City Logan
2002 La Harpe 61 Mt. Olive Champaign St. Matthew East St. Louis Jackson
Lincoln Chester-East Lincoln
2001 Champaign St. Matthew 47 Lincoln West Lincoln-Broadwell Lexington Brimfield
2000 Joliet Laraway 37 Brimfield Bement
Lincoln West Lincoln-Broadwell
1999 Brimfield 41 Ford Heights Cottage Grove UGC Neoga Fisher
1998 Joliet Union 30 Bismarck-Henning
Lincoln Chester-East Lincoln
Mt. Olive
1997 La Harpe 44 Arthur Hartsburg-Emden Homer Heritage
1996 Downs Tri-Valley 38 Walnut Champaign St. Matthew Atwood-Hammond
1995 Dallas City 35 Fisher La Harpe Colfax Ridgeview
1994 Farmington 30 Seneca Winchester Washington St. Patrick
1993 Atwood-Hammond 33 Dallas City Waverly Decatur Johns Hill
1992 Champaign St. Matthew 40 Blue Mound
1991 Venice 40 Liberty Seneca Dallas City
1990 Colfax Ridgeview 42 Greenfield Deer Grove Dallas City
1989 Joliet Laraway 50 Roanoke-Benson White Heath Dallas City
1988 Peoria Christian 29 Fisher Arthur Deer Grove
1987 Peoria Pleasant Valley 56 Monmouth Warren Henry Milton East Pike
1986 Mt. Olive 48 Green Valley Palestine
Peoria Pleasant Valley
1985 Deer Grove Tampico
30   Washington Pleasant View Lockport Taft

Class History

The first IESA state track meet for boys was held in Wenona in 1932 with 28 schools attending. A 24" trophy for the winning team was donated by the merchants of Wenona.

From 1932 to 1984 there were two classes of boys' track, Class A (Heavyweights) and Class B (Lightweights). Class B was based on age, weight, and height from 1932 to 1968. In 1969, the weight factor was dropped and competition was based on age and height factors. Class B was discontinued in 1985, changed to grade level play (7 and 8) and school size, our present classes.

The girls' track program, initiated in 1972 at the regional level, moved to state finals in 1974 in two divisions: Class A for grades five through eight and Class B for grades five and six only. These two classes were continued through the 1979 season. From 1980 through 1984, the Girls classes were changed to correspond with those of the boys based on age and height factors. Class B girls were measured during those years for height the same as the boys. Beginning in 1985, those classes were dropped and reorganized into the present classes by school size and grade level (7 and 8).

How Class Split is Determined

Home   |   Site Map   |   Activities   |   News   |   Sportsmanship   |   Administration   |   Resources

WWW www.iesa.org

Illinois Elementary School Association
1015 Maple Hill Road, Bloomington, IL 61705 - PH: 309-829-0114 - FAX: 309-829-0625
Contact the IESA - http://www.iesa.org
Contents © 1999-2020 Illinois Elementary School Association