IESA Headlines

One Record set in First Day of Class A State Track and Field Meet

EAST PEORIA - Only one record was set in the first day of competition of the 2006 IESA Class A State Final Track and Field Meet Friday at EastSide Centre. Soggy and cold weather kept the athletes from challenging the record book.

Only one record was set. Brandon Bolton of Joy Westmer set the Class 8A Boys record in the long jump with a leap of 20-1 �, bettering the old mark by a quarter-inch

Here is a look at the four different meets.

7A Girls

Hannah Booker of Tremont slipped past Molly Dahlquist of Peoria St. Mark coming off the fourth turn to pull out a win in the 1600-meter run in 5:33.51. Dahlquist was second at 5:33.96. Ashlyn Jacquot won the long jump with a leap of 15-6. Tiffany Mohr of La Harpe took the high jump at 4-11. Brittney Algar of Lexington was second at 4-10. Natalie Turner of Wyoming Stark County won the shot put with a toss of 28-4 �. Kaley Wakey of Herscher JHS won the discus at 87-2.

8A Girls

Kelly Curran of Bloomington Holy Trinity rolled to a win in the 1600-meter run by nearly ten seconds with a 5:30.64. Danielle Dixon of Heyworth was second in 5:40.44. Jessica Brito of Bismarck-Henning captured the long jump with a leap of 16-8. Emily Les of Decatur Our lady of Lourdes won the high jump at 4-9. Marley Hall of Warsaw won the shot put with a toss of 31-7. Rebecca Gillen on Monmouth ICS won the discus with a toss of 100-8.

7A Boys

Cody Carson of Carthage roared from off the pace to take the 1600-meter run in 5:00.54. Rob Kinnick of Chrisman Scottland won the long jump at 18-4, winning by a full foot over runner-up Alex German of Brimfield, who went 17-4.

8A Boys

Brandon Bolton of Joy Westmer set the Class 8A record in the long jump with a leap of 20-1 �, bettering the old mark by a quarter-inch. Jesse Pence of Chillicothe won the pole vault at 10-6.

Ryan Van Fossen and teammate Ryan Donnelly of Metamora St. Mary's finished 1-2 in the 1600-meter run. Van Fossen won in 4:50.91 and Donnelly took second at 4:57.22. Heyworth's Andrew Schultz was third in 5:00.77 and teammate Ben Asmus finished fifth in 5:01.59. The Metamora St. Mary's duo picked up a combined 18 team points, while the Heyworth pair accounted for 10. Heyworth's Jase Wilson qualified for the finals in the 100, winning his preliminary heat and semifinal race by wide margins.

Human Kinetics Coach Education Center
Royal Publishing
DICK's Sporting Goods Event Pro Photography Mikasa Sports
Reinstein Quizbowl
A&M Products Run With The Law Slammer Systems Rawlings Cubby Hole
Illinois High School Association IHSA's March Madness Experience Illinois Athletic Directors Association National Federation of State High School Associations NFHS Learning Center
Illinois Elementary School Association
1015 Maple Hill Road, Bloomington, IL 61705
PH: 309-829-0114
FAX: 309-829-0625
Contents © 1999-2023 Illinois Elementary School Association

If you encounter an error message, please contact our webmaster.
Tell us your school, and be as specific as you can about the problem.
Most helpful would any error information listed as part of the error page.