IESA Headlines

2010 IESA Cheerleading Championships Set For Saturday

BLOOMINGTON - The field in the ninth year of the Illinois Elementary School Association (IESA) State Cheerleading Championships is the largest number of competing squads ever. There will be 93 performances on Saturday (January 23) in the Exhibit Hall of the Peoria Civic Center.

Previously, the event was conducted in December. Last year there were 82 performances and in 2007 there were 73. In 2006 there were 82 and in 2005 there were 48.

The 2010 Championships get under way at 9:00 a.m. in the Exhibit Hall. Tickets to the Championships will be on sale at the Peoria Civic Center. Admission is $8.00 for adults, $4.00 for senior citizens and students K-8. Preschoolers are admitted free. Admission gates open at 8:00 a.m.

This year's schedule of events will be:

Event Competition Awards Ceremony
Cheer 9:00 a.m.-11:05 a.m. 11:15 a.m. (Approx.)
Routine 12:45-5:00 p.m. 5:15 p.m. (Approx.)

Note: The awards ceremony in Cheer and Routine will follow the final performance in the respective category. Times listed for the award ceremonies are approximate.

In Cheer, there are 15 Small Team squads scheduled to compete, along with 16 Large Team squads. In Routine, there are 23 Small Team squads scheduled to compete along with 26 Medium Team squads and 13 Large Team squads.

Six-time Small Team Cheer champion Shelbyville Moulton is one of 15 squads entered in this division. Shelbyville Moulton is scheduled to perform at 9:16 a.m. Two-time defending Large Team Cheer champion Edwardsville Liberty is scheduled to perform at 9:20 a.m.

Defending Small Team Routine champion Kincaid South Fork is scheduled to perform at 2:13 p.m. Lake Zurich North, last year's Medium Team Routine champion, will compete in the Large Team Routine competition this year at 4:58 p.m. Orland Hills Bernardin, winner of Large Team Routine the past two years, will compete in Medium Team Routine this year and is scheduled to perform at 1:53 p.m.

There are two event categories of competition in IESA cheerleading. One is Routine (with three divisions based on squad size) and the other is Cheer (with two divisions based on squad size). In the Routine category, Small Team is for school squads with 5-12 cheerleaders, Medium Team is for school squads with 13-16 members, and Large Team is for squads with 17-25 members. In the Cheer category, Small Team is for school squads with 1-12 members and Large Team is for school squads with 13-25 cheerleaders.

Following is a breakdown of what is involved in each event:

Cheer - The squad performs a routine without music for a time period from 1-3 minutes in length. The cheer may include stunts, tumbling and jumps. A school may enter either the small team or large team.

Routine - The squad performs a routine with music for a time period from 1-3 minutes in length. The normal full routine starts with music, then a cheerleading/sideline portion, followed by music to finish the routine. A school may enter either the small team, medium team or large team in the event.

Criteria used by the judges in IESA Cheerleading competition allows for them to award up to 100 points to a squad's performance. Categories of points include Communication (15 points), Fundamental Skills (45 points), Group Techniques (15 points), Overall Effect (20 points) and Sportsmanship (5 points). Deductions may occur if the time limit is not met (-5 points), if music is in excess of 1:30 (-5), a squad member being physically out of bounds (-5 points per incident), if a stunt is in major violation of a NFHS Spirit Safety Rule (-25 points), or if a squad is in minor violation of the NFHS Rule Book (-10 points).

The order of competition in each event is on the Cheerleading Page of the IESA Web Site. Go to for complete information regarding the 2010 IESA Cheerleading Championships. Click on the underlined "Cheer" in the (orange screened) box at the top of the page. Once on the Cheerleading home page, you can click on the underlined "Order of Competition" to view the performance schedule for all squads by event. Results of the competition will be posted Saturday evening.

Year-By-Year IESA Cheerleading State Champions

Small Team Cheer
2001 -- Shelbyville Moulton
2002 -- Shelbyville Moulton
2003 -- Shelbyville Moulton
2004 -- Shelbyville Moulton
2005 -- Shelbyville Moulton
2006 -- Shelbyville Moulton
2007 -- Shelbyville Moulton
2008 -- Windsor

Small Team Routine
2001-- East Peoria Central
2002 -- Shelbyville Moulton
2003 -- Kincaid South Fork
2004 -- Lake Zurich North
2005 -- Lockport Oak Prairie
2006 -- Bloomington Cornerstone
2007 -- Lockport Oak Prairie
2008 -- Kincaid South Fork

Medium Team Routine
2006 -- Lockport Kelvin Grove
2007 -- Jerseyville Illini
2008 -- Lake Zurich North

Large Team Cheer
2001 -- Homer Glen Homer
2002 -- Homer Glen Homer
2003 -- Homer Glen Homer
2004 -- Edwardsville Liberty
2005 -- Edwardsville Liberty
2006 -- Freeport
2007 -- Edwardsville Liberty
2008 -- Edwardsville Liberty

Large Team Routine
2001 -- (Tie) Bloomington Holy Trinity and Kincaid South Fork
2002 -- Lake Zurich South
2003 -- Lockport Kelvin Grove
2004 -- New Lenox Martino
2005 -- Edwardsville Liberty
2006 -- Edwardsville Liberty
2007 -- Orland Hills Bernardin
2008 -- Orland Hills Bernardin
Human Kinetics Coach Education Center
Royal Publishing
DICK's Sporting Goods Event Pro Photography Mikasa Sports
Reinstein Quizbowl
A&M Products Run With The Law Slammer Systems Rawlings Cubby Hole
Illinois High School Association IHSA's March Madness Experience Illinois Athletic Directors Association National Federation of State High School Associations NFHS Learning Center
Illinois Elementary School Association
1015 Maple Hill Road, Bloomington, IL 61705
PH: 309-829-0114
FAX: 309-829-0625
Contents © 1999-2024 Illinois Elementary School Association

If you encounter an error message, please contact our webmaster.
Tell us your school, and be as specific as you can about the problem.
Most helpful would any error information listed as part of the error page.