IESA Headlines

3 Records Set Friday At Class AA State Track and Field Meet

EAST PEORIA -- Records were set in three events Friday in the IESA Class AA State Final Track and Field Meet at the Eastside Centre.

Marlon Brady of Cahokia Wirth set the all-time and 8AA boys record in the 400-meter dash. He won in 50.89 seconds. The old mark was 51.41 seconds set by Austin Semplowski of Gillespie in 2008.

Morgan Zacharias of Braidwood Reed-Custer went 9-6 in the 7AA girls pole vault to set the record. The old mark was 9-4 by Jennifer Costello of Carlinville set in 2006. Zacharias cleared 9-4.25 on her second try, then 9-5 on her first try and 9-6 on her first try. With the bar at 9-7, she missed her first try. On the second try at 9-7 she was over the bar but clipped it on the way down. On her third try at 9-7 she did not clear the bar.

Dee Byrd of Normal Kingsley set the 8AA girls record in the 400-meter dash. She won in 58.23 seconds. The old mark was 59.32 seconds set by Jen Guy of Normal Parkside in 2005. Last year Byrd set the 7AA and the all-time 400 record in a time of 57.04 seconds.

Brock Snarski of Blue Mound Meridian won the 8AA boys 1600-meter run in a time of 4:37.76 and will try to take the 800-meter run Saturday. Last year he won both the 800 and 1600 races in 7AA.

Human Kinetics Coach Education Center
Royal Publishing
DICK's Sporting Goods Event Pro Photography Mikasa Sports
Reinstein Quizbowl
A&M Products Run With The Law Slammer Systems Rawlings Cubby Hole
Illinois High School Association IHSA's March Madness Experience Illinois Athletic Directors Association National Federation of State High School Associations NFHS Learning Center
Illinois Elementary School Association
1015 Maple Hill Road, Bloomington, IL 61705
PH: 309-829-0114
FAX: 309-829-0625
Contents © 1999-2023 Illinois Elementary School Association

If you encounter an error message, please contact our webmaster.
Tell us your school, and be as specific as you can about the problem.
Most helpful would any error information listed as part of the error page.