Why Your School Should Become a Member
Sportsmanship Center

Illinois High School Association
National Federation of State High School Associations
NFHS Learning Center
Human Kinetics Coach Education Center
IESA Headlines

Molly McGraw Sets All-Time Girls High Jump Record

EAST PEORIA — In a day when youth was served, it was veteran Molly McGraw of Bloomington Holy Trinity who set the all-time IESA girls high jump record by going 5-5 Friday at Eastside Centre.

McGraw, last year's seventh grade high jump champion with the 7A record of 5-3, broke the previous all-time mark of 5-4 that was shared by four others dating back to 1981 when Lynn McMillan of Chatham Glenwood hit 5-4 for the first time. The others were Stacey Chipman of Sciota Northwestern in 1991, Steph Schuler of El Paso Centennial in 1993 and Laura Morris of Mahomet-Seymour in 2002. McGraw missed three times at 5-6.

Sixth grader Cecee Ricca of Peoria St. Philomena won the seventh grade girls 400-meter dash in a 7A record time of 59.46 seconds, bettering the old mark of 1:00.49 by Melissa McMillan of Atwood-Hammond.

Sixth grader Brock Mammoser, whose brother Scott won pole vault in 2002-03-04-05 won the 7A pole vault with a winning mark of 10-3. He tried three times at 10-11 and barely missed on his third try. Sixth grader Tanner Hull of Bloomington St. Mary's took fourth at 9-6 and his seventh grade St. Mary's teammate Michael Rariden finished second at 10-0.

A talented brother and sister combination from Effingham St. Anthony won the boys and girls 7A 1600-meter runs Friday. Seventh grader Peter Keller took the boys race in 4:55.74. His sister Ana Sophia Keller, a fifth grader, took the girls race in 5:33.01.

Seventh grader Tyler Schuring of Arthur set the only other record of the day as he won the 7A boys 400-meter dash in a time of 54.15 seconds. The old mark was 54.96 by Josh Halley of Minonk-Dana-Rutland in 1992.

Johnathan Harrell of Aurora Christian was one of two double winners Friday. He won the 8A 400-meter dash in 52.57 seconds and the 8A long jump in 19-11. The other double winner was Graci Bastert of Carthage. She won the 8A 400-meter dash in 1:01.28 and took the 8A long jump at 16-2.75. Finishing second behind her was Molly McGraw of Bloomington Holy Trinity at 16-1.25.

Dani Aurit of Marseilles ES won the 8A girls 1600-meter run in a time of 5:29.05, winning the event by 10.24 seconds. She won the 7A 1600 last year and will be the favorite in the 800-meter run Saturday.

Carthage got a third 8A girls win when Morgan Martin took the discus with a throw of 99-5. The three firsts are worth 10 team points each.

Home   |   Site Map   |   Activities   |   News   |   Sportsmanship   |   Administration   |   Resources

WWW www.iesa.org

Illinois Elementary School Association
1015 Maple Hill Road, Bloomington, IL 61705 - PH: 309-829-0114 - FAX: 309-829-0625
Contact the IESA - https://www.iesa.org
Contents © 1999-2021 Illinois Elementary School Association