Why Your School Should Become a Member
Sportsmanship Center

Illinois High School Association
National Federation of State High School Associations
NFHS Learning Center
Human Kinetics Coach Education Center
IESA Headlines

2013 IESA Golf State Tournament Tees Off Saturday

Students from Illinois Elementary School Association (IESA) member schools will compete in the third annual Golf State Tournament at Kellogg Golf Course in Peoria on Saturday, September 14. There will be 163 students who will make the trip to compete in the event this weekend. A complete list of participating schools can be found on the IESA website:


This will mark the first year that the Kellogg Golf Course in Peoria has hosted the Golf State Tournament. The new state site contains two different courses, the Executive 9 and the Kellogg Course; both of which will be in use Saturday. The 18 hole Kellogg Course, which was renovated in 2011, features bent grass fairways and greens, sand bunkers, uplifted trees as well as improved drainage and an updated clubhouse.

The tournament will consist of a girls and boys division. All participants will compete in one 18 hole round of golf. The Girls will begin on hole one of the Executive 9 and finish on the Kellogg back 9. The boys will begin on hole 10 of the Kellogg course and finish on the front 9.

The first tee time on Saturday is scheduled to begin at 7:00 a.m. for the boys and 9:30 a.m. for the girls. Returning from last year's top ten are Maxine Nesemeier of Freeport Carl Sandburg; Kristen Sayyida of Rockford Eisenhower and Emily Mars of O'Fallon Fulton. Seventh grader Sophie Hoeltgen of Barrington Station Campus and fifth grader Reese Wilson of Chicago Catherine Cook are two notable newcomers that each carry impressive averages entering the state tournament. The 2012 defending champion, Madasyn Petterson from Thurgood Marshall Academy in Rockford, is unable to compete this year due to injury.

On the boy's side, two time champion, Thomas Calbi has since moved onto the high school ranks; however, 2012 top ten finishers Tommy Kuhl and Isaac Ingold of Morton JHS are each back. Dallas Koth of Normal Epiphany, Noah Robinson of Carrollton Grade School and Nicolas Nguyen of Mattoon Middle School also return from a year ago in hopes to capture gold. Newcomer Tyler Painter, an 8th grader from Havana, is also poised to make some noise this year.

A complete listing of tee times for both boys and girls can be found here on the IESA website:


The awards ceremony will take place after the last golfers have completed their round. Individual awards will be given during the ceremony, with the top 10 finishers receiving medals.

Complete tournament information can be found at www.iesa.org. Click on the Golf link at the top of the IESA Web site home page. Also, the IESA Fanzone available on the IESA home page can provide additional information.

There will be no admission or parking charge at the tournament.

Should weather become a factor, the IESA website will contain up-to-date information regarding the tournament playing schedule. Go to www.iesa.org for any changes to the schedule and for final results which will be posted at the conclusion of the awards ceremony.

For more information, please contact the Golf Administrator Julie Cochran at 309-829-0114 or julie@iesa.org.

Home   |   Site Map   |   Activities   |   News   |   Sportsmanship   |   Administration   |   Resources

WWW www.iesa.org

Illinois Elementary School Association
1015 Maple Hill Road, Bloomington, IL 61705 - PH: 309-829-0114 - FAX: 309-829-0625
Contact the IESA - https://www.iesa.org
Contents © 1999-2021 Illinois Elementary School Association