IESA Headlines

2016 IESA Scholastic Bowl State Finals to be Held at Peoria Civic Center on Friday, May 6; Championship Matches to be Webcast

For the fifth consecutive year the Illinois Elementary School Association (IESA) Scholastic Bowl State Finals will be held in Peoria at the Civic Center this Friday (May 6). The IESA state series in Scholastic Bowl began in 1988 although a state final was not held the first year. There was one-class competition from 1989-1996, and in 1997 the state series was divided into Class A and Class AA based on school size. This is the 28th year of state series competition in Scholastic Bowl and the 20th year for Class A and Class AA competition.

A total of 16 teams will play in Peoria--eight teams in Class A and eight teams in Class AA. All teams participating will play three rounds. Each class is divided into two pools of four teams. The winners of each pool will then meet for the championship of their respective class while the runners-up in each pool will play for 3rd place honors. Assignment to each pool was done by a blind draw. Competition gets underway at 1:00 p.m. in both classes. Subsequent matches are scheduled for 2:00 p.m. and 3:00 p.m. After an hour break for dinner, the third place and championship matches will be played at 5:00 p.m. The awards assembly will begin immediately after the conclusion of the final round.

The Peoria Civic Center is hosting the IESA state finals for the fifth time. Prior to the move to the Civic Center, the IESA state finals were held at Heartland Community College in Normal for six years. The Civic Center provides a beautiful venue for the finals and all matches will be conducted in the 4th floor ballroom.

The price of admission is $5.00 for adults and $2.00 for seniors (62 and over) and students (K-8), and is good for the entire tournament. Children younger than kindergarten are admitted free. Fans attending the matches will receive a wristband that is to be worn all day and will be used for entry into the facility throughout the day.

This year, 375 member schools entered the state series in Scholastic Bowl. Questions used throughout the state series are provided by Questions Galore, while the lockout systems are provided by Slammer Systems.

Complete pairings for each state final, the results after the competition on Friday, plus the FanZone, can be found at Click on the Scholastic Bowl line in the orange box at the top of the IESA Web Site Home Page.

Here is a look at each of the two 2016 State Final Tournaments:


POOL A TEAMS: Columbia ICS, Normal Metcalf, Palatine Quest, Sparland Midland
POOL B TEAMS: Champaign Next Generation, Jacksonville Our Saviour, Peoria Academy, West Salem

Pool A
1:00 p.m. - Palatine Quest vs. Sparland Midland
1:00 p.m. - Normal Metcalf vs. Columbia ICS

2:00 p.m. - Palatine Quest vs. Normal Metcalf
2:00 p.m. - Sparland Midland vs. Columbia ICS

3:00 p.m. - Palatine Quest vs. Columbia ICS
3:00 p.m. - Sparland Midland vs. Normal Metcalf

Pool B
1:00 p.m. - Peoria Academy vs. Champaign Next Generation
1:00 p.m. - Jacksonville Our Saviour vs. West Salem

2:00 p.m. - Peoria Academy vs. Jacksonville Our Saviour
2:00 p.m. - Champaign Next Generation vs. West Salem

3:00 p.m. - Peoria Academy vs. West Salem
3:00 p.m. - Champaign Next Generation vs. Jacksonville Our Saviour

5:00 p.m. - Pool A runner-up vs. Pool B runner-up (third place)
5:00 p.m. - Pool A winner vs. Pool B winner (championship)


POOL A TEAMS: Champaign Franklin, Dunlap MS, Homer Glen Homer, Rockford Marshall
POOL B TEAMS: Barrington Station, Carlinville, Frankfort Hickory Creek, Springfield Franklin

Pool A
1:00 p.m. - Homer Glen Homer vs. Rockford Marshall
1:00 p.m. - Dunlap MS vs. Champaign Franklin

2:00 p.m. - Homer Glen Homer vs. Dunlap MS
2:00 p.m. - Rockford Marshall vs. Champaign Franklin

3:00 p.m. - Homer Glen Homer vs. Champaign Franklin
3:00 p.m. - Rockford Marshall vs. Dunlap MS

Pool B
1:00 p.m. - Barrington Station vs. Frankfort Hickory Creek
1:00 p.m. - Springfield Franklin vs. Carlinville

2:00 p.m. - Barrington Station vs. Springfield Franklin
2:00 p.m. - Frankfort Hickory Creek vs. Carlinville

3:00 p.m. - Barrington Station vs. Carlinville
3:00 p.m. - Frankfort Hickory Creek vs. Springfield Franklin

5:00 p.m. - Pool A runner-up vs. Pool B runner-up (third place)
5:00 p.m. - Pool A winner vs. Pool B winner (championship)

For the fifth straight year, the lock-out systems that will be used at the IESA state finals will be provided by Slammer Systems. Slammer Systems automatically keeps score, manages time, controls the ring-in process, and produces detailed statistic spreadsheets for every match.

In addition, the IESA and Slammer Systems will be broadcasting the Class A and AA Championship matches online. Fans can click on one of the links below and register to listen to the championship match. If you are interested in listening to either the Class A or Class AA championship match, simply click one of the links below. There is no charge to listen to the match.

For Class A click on:

For Class AA click on:

Note: Only the Class A and AA Championship matches will be broadcast.

For more information, please contact IESA Associate Executive Director and Scholastic Bowl Administrator Nicole Schaefbauer at

Human Kinetics Coach Education Center
Royal Publishing
DICK's Sporting Goods Event Pro Photography Mikasa Sports
Reinstein Quizbowl
A&M Products Run With The Law Slammer Systems Rawlings Cubby Hole
Illinois High School Association IHSA's March Madness Experience Illinois Athletic Directors Association National Federation of State High School Associations NFHS Learning Center
Illinois Elementary School Association
1015 Maple Hill Road, Bloomington, IL 61705
PH: 309-829-0114
FAX: 309-829-0625
Contents © 1999-2023 Illinois Elementary School Association

If you encounter an error message, please contact our webmaster.
Tell us your school, and be as specific as you can about the problem.
Most helpful would any error information listed as part of the error page.