IESA Headlines

2023 IESA Scholastic Bowl State Finals to be Held at Peoria Civic Center on Friday, May 5; Championship Matches to be Webcast

For the tenth year the Illinois Elementary School Association (IESA) Scholastic Bowl State Finals will be held in Peoria at the Civic Center this Friday (May 5). The IESA state series in Scholastic Bowl began in 1988. There was one-class competition from 1988-1996, and in 1997 the state series was divided into Class A and Class AA based on school size. This is the 33rd year of state series competition in Scholastic Bowl and the 25th year for Class A and Class AA competition.

A total of 16 teams will play in Peoria--eight teams in Class A and eight teams in Class AA. All teams participating will play three rounds. Each class is divided into two pools of four teams. The winners of each pool will then meet for the championship of their respective class while the runners-up in each pool will play for 3rd place honors. Assignment to each pool was done by a blind draw. Competition gets underway at 1:00 p.m. in both classes. Subsequent matches are scheduled for 2:00 p.m. and 3:00 p.m. After an hour break for dinner, the third place and championship matches will be played at 5:00 p.m. The awards ceremony will begin immediately after the conclusion of the final round.

The price of admission is $7.00 for adults and $3.00 for seniors (62 and over) and students (K-8) and is good for the entire tournament. Children younger than kindergarten are admitted free. Fans attending the matches will receive a wristband that is to be worn all day and will be used for entry into the facility throughout the day.

This year, 380 member schools entered the state series in Scholastic Bowl. Questions used throughout the state series are provided by Reinstein Quiz Bowl, while the lockout systems are provided by Slam-In Systems.

Complete pairings for each state final, the results after the competition on Friday, plus the FanZone, can be found at Click on the Scholastic Bowl line in the orange box at the top of the IESA Web Site Home Page.

Here is a look at each of the two 2023 State Final Tournaments:


POOL A TEAMS: Roanoke-Benson, Columbia ICS, Carthage, Spring Bay Riverview

POOL B TEAMS: Springfield Christian, Normal Metcalf, Champaign Next Generation, Palatine Quest

Pool A

1:00 p.m. – Roanoke-Benson v Columbia ICS

1:00 p.m. – Carthage v Spring Bay Riverview

2:00 p.m. – Roanoke-Benson v Carthage

2:00 p.m. – Columbia ICS v Spring Bay Riverview

3:00 p.m. – Roanoke-Benson v Spring Bay Riverview

3:00 p.m. – Columbia ICS v Carthage

Pool B

1:00 p.m. – Springfield Christian v Normal Metcalf

1:00 p.m. – Champaign Next Generation v Palatine Quest

2:00 p.m. – Springfield Christian v Champaign Next Generation

2:00 p.m. – Normal Metcalf v Palatine Quest

3:00 p.m. – Springfield Christian v Palatine Quest

3:00 p.m. – Normal Metcalf vs Champaign Next Generation

5:00 p.m. – Pool A runner-up vs. Pool B runner-up (third place)

5:00 p.m. – Pool A winner vs. Pool B winner (championship)


POOL A TEAMS: O’Fallon Fulton, Bloomington JHS, Lincolnshire Daniel Wright, Coal City

POOL B TEAMS: Willowbrook Westview Hills, Springfield Franklin, Champaign Franklin, Peoria Reservoir

Pool A

1:00 p.m. – O’Fallon Fulton v Bloomington JHS

1:00 p.m. – Lincolnshire Daniel Wright v Coal City

2:00 p.m. – O’Fallon Fulton v Lincolnshire Daniel Wright

2:00 p.m. – Bloomington JHS v Coal City

3:00 p.m. – O’Fallon Fulton v Coal City

3:00 p.m. – Bloomington JHS v Lincolnshire Daniel Wright

Pool B

1:00 p.m. – Willowbrook Westview Hills v Springfield Franklin

1:00 p.m. – Champaign Franklin v Peoria Reservoir

2:00 p.m. – Willowbrook Westview Hills v Champaign Franklin

2:00 p.m. – Springfield Franklin v Peoria Reservoir

3:00 p.m. – Willowbrook Westview Hills v Peoria Reservoir

3:00 p.m. – Springfield Franklin v Champaign Franklin

5:00 p.m. – Pool A runner-up vs. Pool B runner-up (third place)

5:00 p.m. – Pool A winner vs. Pool B winner (championship)

For the tenth year, the lock-out systems that will be used at the IESA state finals will be provided by Slam-In Systems. Slammer Systems automatically keeps score, manages time, controls the ring-in process, and produces detailed statistic spreadsheets for every match.

In addition, the IESA and Slam-In Systems will be broadcasting the Class A and AA Championship matches online. Fans can click on one of the links posted to the IESA website.

Note: Only the championship match of each class will be broadcast.

For more information, please contact IESA Assistant Executive Director and Scholastic Bowl Administrator Chris Frasco at

Human Kinetics Coach Education Center
Royal Publishing
DICK's Sporting Goods Event Pro Photography Mikasa Sports
Reinstein Quizbowl
A&M Products Run With The Law Slammer Systems Rawlings Cubby Hole
Illinois High School Association IHSA's March Madness Experience Illinois Athletic Directors Association National Federation of State High School Associations NFHS Learning Center
Illinois Elementary School Association
1015 Maple Hill Road, Bloomington, IL 61705
PH: 309-829-0114
FAX: 309-829-0625
Contents © 1999-2023 Illinois Elementary School Association

If you encounter an error message, please contact our webmaster.
Tell us your school, and be as specific as you can about the problem.
Most helpful would any error information listed as part of the error page.