2008 IESA Scholar Attitude Award

Main Page   -   All-Time Winners by School

29 Individuals Named as IESA Scholar Attitude Award Winners

2008 Scholar Attitude Winners
Scholar Attitude Winners

Rachel Walker, Ashlen Portwood, Patrick Juras, Dominic Vahling, Lucas Diller, Reid Farchmin, Tori Kuhn, Laine Dohleman, Kory Sczurek, and Annie O'Malley

Anna Pfaff, Ariel Stateman, Rachel Kobayashi, Kendall Herren, Lance Curtis, Jacob Olson, Timoshanae Wellmaker, Sarah Osmulski, Matt Onysio, and Matthew Keown

Jennifer Schmidt, Nicole Schweighart, Blake Winkler, Aaron Brenner, Derrick Mathy, Michael Fitzgerald, Sara Scarbro, Rachel Kenderdine, and Michael Simon

The Illinois Elementary School Association (IESA) is pleased to announce the winners of the 2008 Scholar Attitude Award presented by State Farm. Twenty-nine (29) students from across the state who attend IESA member schools were selected by a panel of judges and will be honored with a luncheon on Friday, April 18, at the Doubletree Hotel and Conference Center in Bloomington. It begins at 11:00 a.m.

The 29 award winners, two guests of each award winner, and the school principal will be guests of the IESA at the luncheon. All award winners will receive a plaque, an award medallion, a savings bond, and a DVD of the day's events. Mr. Stephen Bargatze, of the Tennessee Secondary School Athletic Association, will be the guest speaker.

To be eligible, a student from an IESA member school must be of 8th grade status, have a minimum grade-point-average of 3.5 on a 4.0 scale, must have participated in at least one IESA activity during each year of their two-year junior high career, and demonstrated outstanding citizenship during their junior high tenure. In addition, each student is required to submit a typed essay titled "The Value of Sportsmanship."

Only one student from each IESA member school was eligible for consideration. One girl and one boy from each of the 15 IESA Board of Directors geographic membership divisions were selected. Nearly 160 applications were received.

"Prior to 2007, our judges selected one student from each of the membership divisions," said IESA Executive Director Steve Endsley. "This year, because of the support we have received from State Farm, our judges selected one girl and one boy from each division bringing the total number of award winners to 30. However, because no male student from a member school in Division C met the published award criteria, no award will be given to a male from that division. The judges believed that the integrity of the program is too important to simply give the award to a student who does not meet the criteria. Therefore, we only have 29 winners this year. The students selected for our 10th annual Scholar Attitude Award represent the finest junior high school students in the state of Illinois. The tradition of naming a Scholar Attitude award started in 1999 and that first group of students selected set the expectation bar at a high level. This year's class has met the challenge and has demonstrated their abilities in the classroom, on the playing fields, and in their communities. It is refreshing to see that the youth of Illinois are preparing for their high school careers and beyond. Our judges have a very difficult time selecting only 30 students. These students will be the leaders of tomorrow."

Named as Scholar Attitude Award Winners for 2008 are:
Sara Scarbro, Algonquin Heineman Patrick Juras, Lake Zurich North
Kendall Herren, Somonauk Aaron Brenner, Sterling Challand
Ariel Stateman, Lemont Old Quarry
Anna Pfaff, Morris Nettle Creek Blake Winkler, Frankfort Hickory Creek
Laine Dohleman, Pontiac St. Mary's Lucas Diller, Forrest Prairie Central
Sarah Osmulski, Elmwood Michael Fitzgerald, Peoria St. Philomena
Ashlen Portwood, Milford Derrick Mathy, Clifton Nash
Annie O'Malley, Bloomington Holy Trinity Matt Onysio, Normal Kingsley
Rachel Walker, Decatur Johns Hill Jacob Olson, Lincoln West Lincoln-Broadwell
Tori Kuhn, Quincy Lance Curtis, Bushnell-Prairie City
Nicole Schweighart, Champaign St. Matthew Reid Farchmin, Mahomet-Seymour
Rachel Kenderdine, Paris Mayo Matthew Keown, Findlay Okaw Valley
Rachel Kobayashi, Chatham Glenwood Michael Simon, Springfield Ball Charter
Jennifer Schmidt, Effingham St. Anthony Dominic Vahling, Teutopolis
Timoshanae Wellmaker, Cahokia Wirth Kory Sczurek, Staunton

  "The IESA Scholar Attitude Award honors those students who have maintained a high-academic standard while pursuing participation in their school community through IESA activities. We would like to congratulate the selected students on their focus, passion, and pursuit. We look forward to the leadership they will provide in the future and we are pleased to be a part of their journey."

Nicole Schaefbauer
IESA Executive Director
Administrator for Scholar Attitude Award
Human Kinetics Coach Education Center
Royal Publishing
DICK's Sporting Goods Event Pro Photography Mikasa Sports
Reinstein Quizbowl
A&M Products Run With The Law Slammer Systems Rawlings Cubby Hole
Illinois High School Association IHSA's March Madness Experience Illinois Athletic Directors Association National Federation of State High School Associations NFHS Learning Center
Illinois Elementary School Association
1015 Maple Hill Road, Bloomington, IL 61705
PH: 309-829-0114
FAX: 309-829-0625
Contents © 1999-2023 Illinois Elementary School Association

If you encounter an error message, please contact our webmaster.
Tell us your school, and be as specific as you can about the problem.
Most helpful would any error information listed as part of the error page.