2010 IESA Scholar Attitude Award

Main Page   -   All-Time Winners by School

30 Individuals Named as IESA Scholar Attitude Award Winners

2010 Scholar Attitude Winners
Scholar Attitude Winners

Emilie Emberton, Marty Pesch, Michael Henderson, Tate Kennedy, Emily Meyer, A.J. McNeil, Jana Mudrock, Mark Stice, Catherine Justice, Elyce Trout, and Brandon Crockett

Chelsea Thomas, Matthew Langdon, Natalie Fortner, Bailey Schmidt, Mary Collins, Clare Murphy, Chester Griffith, Addie Masching, Andrew Geldean, and Ryan Wang

Jackie Krawczyk, Andrew Kramer, Gabrielle Zerrusen, Megan Spence, Michelle Paulus, Allyson Quick, Tanner McLain, Carter Frambes, and Demi Fritz

The Illinois Elementary School Association (IESA) is pleased to announce the winners of the 2010 Scholar Attitude Award presented by State Farm. Thirty (30) students from across the state who attend IESA member schools were selected by a panel of judges and will be honored with a luncheon on Tuesday, April 27, at the Doubletree Hotel and Conference Center in Bloomington. It begins at 11:00 a.m.

The 30 award winners, two guests of each award winner, and the school principal will be guests of the IESA at the luncheon. All award winners will receive a plaque, an award medallion, a savings bond, and a DVD of the day's events. Mr. Stephen Bargatze, of the Tennessee Secondary School Athletic Association, will be the guest speaker.

To be eligible, a student from an IESA member school must be of 8th grade status, have a minimum grade-point-average of 3.5 on a 4.0 scale, must have participated in at least one IESA activity during each year of their two-year junior high career, and demonstrated outstanding citizenship during their junior high tenure. In addition, each student is required to submit a typed essay titled "The Value of Sportsmanship."

"Prior to 2007, our judges selected one student from each of the membership divisions," said IESA Executive Director Steve Endsley. "This year, because of the support we have once again received from State Farm, our judges selected one girl and one boy from each division bringing the total number of award winners to 30. However, in two of our divisions there was not a male that met the criteria who submitted an application. Rather than only give 28 awards, we felt we should go ahead and honor the top two females from those two divisions. The judges believed that the integrity of the program is too important to simply give the award to a student who does not meet the criteria. The students selected for our 12th annual Scholar Attitude Award represent the finest junior high school students in the state of Illinois. The tradition of naming a Scholar Attitude award started in 1999 and that first group of students selected set the expectation bar at a high level. This year's class has met the challenge and has demonstrated their abilities in the classroom, on the playing fields, and in their communities. It is refreshing to see that the youth of Illinois are preparing for their high school careers and beyond. Our judges have a very difficult time selecting only 30 students. These students will be the leaders of tomorrow."

Named as Scholar Attitude Award Winners for 2010 are:
Mary Collins, Arlington Heights South Ryan Wang, Lake Forest Deer Path
Jacqueline Krawczyk, Freeport Mark Stice, Sycamore
Clare Murphy, Orland Hills Bernardin Andrew Kramer, Lemont Old Quarry
Jana Mudrock, New Lenox Martino Andrew Geldean, Channahon
Natalie Fortner, Wenona Fieldcrest Carter Frambes, Forrest Prairie Central
Emily Meyer, Elmwood Tate Kennedy, Peoria St. Philomena
Addie Masching, Herscher JHS Brandon Crockett, Manteno
Demi Fritz, Normal Parkside Chester Griffith, Washington MS
Michelle Paulus, Lincoln West Lincoln-Broadwell Matthew Langdon, Lincoln Chester-East Lincoln
Allyson Quick, Ashland A-C Central Elyce Trout, La Harpe
Chelsea Thomas, Danville North Ridge Tanner McLain, Gifford
Emilie Emberton, Paris Mayo A.J. McNeil, Casey-Westfield
Catherine Justice, Buffalo Tri-City Marty Pesch, Williamsville
Megan Spence, West Salem Gabrielle Zerrusen, Newton Jasper County
Bailey Schmidt, Carlinville Michael Henderson, Gillespie

  "The IESA Scholar Attitude Award honors those students who have maintained a high-academic standard while pursuing participation in their school community through IESA activities. We would like to congratulate the selected students on their focus, passion, and pursuit. We look forward to the leadership they will provide in the future and we are pleased to be a part of their journey."

Nicole Schaefbauer
IESA Executive Director
Administrator for Scholar Attitude Award
Human Kinetics Coach Education Center
Royal Publishing
DICK's Sporting Goods Event Pro Photography Mikasa Sports
Reinstein Quizbowl
A&M Products Run With The Law Slammer Systems Rawlings Cubby Hole
Illinois High School Association IHSA's March Madness Experience Illinois Athletic Directors Association National Federation of State High School Associations NFHS Learning Center
Illinois Elementary School Association
1015 Maple Hill Road, Bloomington, IL 61705
PH: 309-829-0114
FAX: 309-829-0625
Contents © 1999-2023 Illinois Elementary School Association

If you encounter an error message, please contact our webmaster.
Tell us your school, and be as specific as you can about the problem.
Most helpful would any error information listed as part of the error page.