Why Your School Should Become a Member
Sportsmanship Center

Illinois High School Association
National Federation of State High School Associations
NFHS Learning Center
Human Kinetics Coach Education Center
IESA Sportsmanship Center

2020 IESA Scholar Attitude Award

Main Page   -   All-Time Winners by School

15 Individuals Named as IESA Scholar Attitude Award Winners

The Illinois Elementary School Association (IESA) is pleased to announce the winners of the 2020 Scholar Attitude Award. A panel of judges consisting of coaches, athletic directors, principals, and superintendents reviewed the applications and selected one student from each of the 15 IESA membership divisions for the award. To be considered, a student from an IESA member school must be of 8th grade status, have a minimum grade-point-average of 3.5 on a 4.0 scale, must have participated in at least one IESA activity during each year of their two-year junior high career, and demonstrated outstanding citizenship during their junior high tenure. In addition, each student is required to submit an essay titled "The Value of Sportsmanship."

"I am pleased to announce the 2020 IESA Scholar Attitude Award Winners," said Steve Endsley, IESA Executive Director. "These 15 students represent the very essence of junior high school interscholastic activities. They have excelled in the classroom, on the athletic fields, in fine arts activities, and have demonstrated outstanding leadership in their communities. When this award was created 22 years ago, I was amazed at the caliber of students who won the award. Now, 22 years later, the students are equally impressive and given the advances in technology, bring so many experiences to the classroom. It is indeed an honor to be associated with students who have achieved so much and are so prepared for their high school careers and beyond. In addition to the 15 statewide winners, I also extend my congratulations to the students who applied but were not selected as it is a significant accomplishment just to be selected by their school to apply for the award."

The 15 award winners, two guests of each award winner, and the school principal were scheduled to be the guests of the IESA at a luncheon on Tuesday, May 5, at the Doubletree Hotel and Conference Center in Bloomington. However, the coronavirus situation affecting the country has those plans on a tentative hold. All award winners will receive a plaque, an award medallion and a gift card. Further information regarding the recognition luncheon will be made available once any plans can be finalized.

Complete listing of prior winners is available at the following link:


Named as Scholar Attitude Award Winners for 2020 are:
Madison Harvey, McHenry Parkland
Kaylee Celus, Annawan
Annika Johnson, Sugar Grove Kaneland Harter
Kenny Daggett, Mazon-Verona-Kinsman
Malachi Snyder, Marseilles ES
Alayna Filipiak, Peoria Academy
Brynn Boundy, Gibson City GCMS
Giana Rawlings, Normal Chiddix
Kloe Froebe, Lincoln West Lincoln-Broadwell
Jayce Privia, Ashland A-C Central
Ava Boyd, Mahomet-Seymour
Piper Sanders, Mattoon
Madelyn Beck, Springfield Lincoln
Austin Wesley, Robinson Nuttall
Julianne Hendricks, Edwardsville Liberty

  "The students selected for our Scholar Attitude Award represent the finest junior high school students in the state of Illinois," said Steve Endsley, IESA Executive Director. "The students have demonstrated their abilities in the classroom, on the playing fields, and in their communities. It is refreshing to see that the youth of Illinois are preparing for their high school careers and beyond. These students will be the leaders of tomorrow."

Steve Endsley, IESA Executive Director, Administrator for Scholar Attitude Award

Home   |   Site Map   |   Activities   |   News   |   Sportsmanship   |   Administration   |   Resources

WWW www.iesa.org

Illinois Elementary School Association
1015 Maple Hill Road, Bloomington, IL 61705 - PH: 309-829-0114 - FAX: 309-829-0625
Contact the IESA - https://www.iesa.org
Contents © 1999-2021 Illinois Elementary School Association